News‎ > ‎

Local Boy Scout Council Awards 22 Volunteers with Prestigious Silver Beaver Award

posted Feb 21, 2015, 8:31 AM by Seneca Admin   [ updated Feb 21, 2015, 8:35 AM ]

WASHINGTON, DC (February 18, 2015) — National Capital Area Council (NCAC), Boy Scouts of America (BSA) has selected 22 local leaders to receive the Silver Beaver Award for distinguished service to youth. As the highest Scouting award given at the local council level, the Silver Beaver recognizes volunteers for consistent, dedicated service to the area’s youth, both in and out of Scouting, over their tenure as a volunteer.

“We are honored to have the opportunity to recognize our volunteers in this way, and grateful for their years of devoted service,” said Les Baron, NCAC Scout Executive and CEO. “It is only because of leaders with this type of dedication that we are able to serve more than 48,000 local youth.”

This year’s class includes program managers, engineers, homemakers, company presidents and retired servicemen from across the Council. The class honoree is Ed Yarbrough, a government relations director for a major aerospace manufacturer. Yarbrough has served in numerous roles at the unit, district, and council level since moving to DC with his family in 1996, including Council Commissioner, Vice President of Mission Impact, Vice President of Membership, Virginia West Area Vice President, and District Commissioner and District Chairman of NCAC’s Goose Creek District. He comes from an active Scouting family; all three of his sons are Eagle Scouts, his wife was a dedicated unit, District and Council Cub Scouter, and his daughter volunteered at Cub Scout day camps.

The members of the Ed Yarbrough 2015 Silver Beaver Class are:

Nancy S. Bentley
Douglas M. Carlson
Raymond M. Davids
Philip Norman Dennis (Seneca District)
Thomas C. DiMisa
Deborah Louise Franklin (Seneca District)
J. Rex Huling
Rizwan Omar Jaka
Donald L. Kerr
Carol E. Lepp
Mark E. Longworth
James Bolton MacGillivray
Robin Bruce McAlister
Isabelle Simone Muller
Joseph Gerard Pallone
Son N. Pham
Keel Loy Ross
Cliti Elata Shafer
Stephen E. Smith
William E. Snowden
Robert William Springman
Dean K. Stinson, III

Volunteers will be recognized at the council’s Court of Honor dinner on Thursday, April 30 at the Hilton McLean Tysons Corner. More information is available at